Off to a Good Start (Fingers Crossed)

I haven’t blogged for a while. No wait, “a while” is a bit of an understatement. It’s been ages. I’m not even sure why, because I was really starting to get into the proverbial swing of things.

I think last year was a bit of a roller-coaster year for me, particularly the second half. As you may or may not know, I had to leave Dubai as a result of visa issues. After moving jobs and joining a really great ad agency, my @#%&-ing ex-employers (feel free to pay a visit to their website  http://www.avantcommunication.com and then send as many rude and nasty emails as you like) decided to be completely petty and spiteful and cancel my visa. Which meant I could no longer stay on in the UAE. Which meant I had to come home.

There were quite a couple of “things” I was pretty sad to say goodbye to, including a great guy (no, I’m not objectifying men – just not sure how else to say it). I actually still have a suitcase full of clothes and shoes at aforementioned great guy’s apartment (thank you Sinan. I will make a plan to come over and retrieve my belongings sometime in the next few months). So, to be honest, I can’t say I was over the moon when I landed in Cape Town at the beginning of October.

But, wow, has that changed. I’ve really had an amazing past (almost) three and half months.

Highlights include:

– Watching Niel de Waal Meiring (check out his great blog here) do an Native American rain dance at the Halloween Jam
– Climbing Lion’s Head with two of my best friends (and seeing some very attractive men along the way. Sorry, that’s not really relevant)
– Meeting some really, really great people
– Watching DIE KRIEL (more on him later, kids) downing double brandy-and-Cokes and teaching his spectators how to do the “KRIELkreet”
– My cousin’s wedding, which was definitely one of the best I’ve been to
– Danni de Raedt’s numerous (usually inappropriate) comments and pearls of wisdom
– Dancing to “My Sharona” with my number one dancing partner, Nina Nelson, as the clock struck 12 on my 25th birthday
– An amazing road trip, filled with beach bats, beer shandies, Asshole (nothing dodgy – just the card game) and plenty of laughter, with some of the coolest people you could ever wish to call your friends

There are quite a few more, but I’ll leave it at that.

And now I’m back from holiday. And it’s a new year. And, quite strangely, I’m feeling pretty optimistic and excited about it.

So on that note, I thought I’d share with you some of my resolutions/goals/whatever you’d like to call them for the year:

– Get fit. And run the Two Oceans Half Marathon in April with Kristen Parris
– Start using body lotion regularly (this is quite a mission for me)
– Give vegetarianism a go (I’ve already cut out red meat, so now I just need to ditch chicken)
– Not drink and drive
– Work on my phone answering skills – because, I’m not going to lie, they’re pretty damn shocking at the moment
– Either buy myself a motorbike (a Triumph Bonneville T100 would be a-m-a-z-i-n-g, but I think I’m maybe being a bit optimistic here), or go on an overseas holiday, before the year
– BLOG REGULARLY (seriously. No, seriously)
– Try to be less cynical and less self-critical
– Learn all the capital cities I don’t know (you can quiz me next time you see me out)
– Do more “stuff” (also nothing dodgy, I promise). Like weekends away and hikes and beach missions and random excursions

I would include “Stop biting my nails”, but I think I’ll leave that for 2012.

So here’s to a new year, and all the (hopefully) good things it (hopefully) has in store for us.

Ps. I know this post is slightly more serious (dull?) than my others. Don’t worry, I’ll try to be funnier and wittier (that’s for you, Niel) in my next one.

2 responses to “Off to a Good Start (Fingers Crossed)

  1. Hey Steph,
    Just to let you know that Dubai misses you too.
    And I hope all the resolutions you made come true.
    Might be swinging by SA later this year, I’ll be sure to drop you line when I’m there.
    Cheers
    The old fat guy who you use to share a flat with 😉

    • Bashar!
      Aah, thanks for the sweet comment. Miss you and my old home. 🙂
      Hope things are going well on that side?
      Please, please let me know if/when you’re out here – have to make a plan to catch up.
      Lots of love.

Leave a Reply

